The World Health Summit is the unique international strategic forum for global health. Held annually in Berlin, it brings together stakeholders from politics, science, the private sector, and civil society from around the world to set the agenda for a healthier future by inspiring innovative solutions for better health and well-being for all.

The World Health Summit was founded in 2009 on the occasion of the 300th anniversary of Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin. It is traditionally held under the patronage of the German Chancellor, the French President, the President of the European Commission, and the Director-General of the World Health Organization (WHO). President of the World Health Summit is Axel R. Pries, former Dean of Charité.

In addition to the World Health Summit in Berlin, there are annual Regional Meetings and regular Expert Meetings around the world. These meetings are organized by the M8 Alliance, the academic backbone of the World Health Summit.

Participants & Speakers

  • Leading scientists and medical professionals
  • Ministers and civil servants
  • High-ranking officials at international organizations
  • CEOs from industry and civil society
  • Young professionals and students


  • Improve health worldwide
  • Find answers to health challenges, guided by science
  • Bring together stakeholders from all sectors and all regions of the world
  • Facilitate open dialogue
  • Strengthen international cooperations
  • Set health agendas
  • Foster the recognition of global health as a key political issue
  • Promote the global health debate in the spirit of the UN Sustainable Development Goals


  • M8 Alliance Declaration
  • Statements and recommendations for national academies, governments, and international organizations


  • Chancellor of the Federal Republic of Germany (since 2009)
  • President of the French Republic (since 2009)
  • President of the European Commission (since 2013)
  • Director-General of the World Health Organization (WHO) (since 2019)



Axel R. Pries, Germany

Founding President

Detlev Ganten, Germany
(President until 2020)

International Presidents

2023 Adnan Hyder, USA
2022 Eugenio Gaudio & Luciano Saso, Italy
2021 Charles Ibingira, Uganda
2020 Charles Ibingira, Uganda
2019 Ali Jafarian, Iran
2018 João Gabriel Silva & Fernando Regateiro, Portugal
2017 Hélène Boisjoly, Canada
2016 Antoine Flahault, Switzerland
2015 Shunichi Fukuhara, Japan
2014 José Otávio Auler Jr., Brazil
2013 John Eu-Li Wong, Singapore
2012 Michael J. Klag, USA
2011 Steve Wesselingh, Australia
2010 Stephen K. Smith, UK
2009 Axel Kahn, France

General Topics

  • Basic Biological & Medical Research
  • Clinical & Patient Research
  • Specific Diseases & Disorders
  • Diagnostics & Therapy
  • Medical Technology & Engineering
  • Health Policies & Systems
  • Universal Health Coverage
  • Translational Science & Medicine
  • Public Health & Prevention
  • Lifestyle, Physical Activity & Nutrition
  • Patient Safety
  • Healthcare Facilities
  • Drugs & Vaccines
  • Regulatory Aspects
  • Health Visions, Strategies & Ethics
  • Evolutionary Medicine
  • Demographic Change & Healthy Aging
  • Global Health & Development

Session Formats

Keynotes: 90 minutes, max. 5 speakers, up to 800 participants onsite
Panel Discussions: 90 minutes, max. 6 speakers, up to 300 participants onsite
Workshops: 90 minutes, max. 6 speakers, up to 250 participants onsite

M8 Alliance

  • Academic foundation of the World Health Summit
  • 28 members worldwide
  • Growing network of excellent universities, research institutions, and medical branches of national academies of science
  • Rotation of the annual international presidency of the World Health Summit
  • Organizes annual Regional Meetings, Expert Meetings, and Summer Schools

World Health Summit Regional Meetings

2024 Melbourne, Australia
2023 Washington DC, USA
2022 Rome, Italy
2021 Kampala, Uganda
2020 Meeting in Kampala, Uganda postponed due to COVID-19
2019 Kish Island, Iran
2018 Coimbra, Portugal
2017 Montreal, Canada
2016 Geneva, Switzerland
2015 Kyoto, Japan
2014 São Paulo, Brazil
2013 Singapore